Thursday, September 29

POA , President KPK Olympics, politicians felicitates new office-bearers of RISJA


Islamabad: Senior sports journalist Mr. Ayaz Akbar Yousafzai Geo’s TV has been elected President and Arif Mehmood Khan (K2 TV) Secretary General of the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) during the annual General Council’s meeting held here at the Gun and Country Club Islamabad on other day. The annual General Council’s meeting was attended by 39 RISJA members unanimously reposed trust in the panel finalized for one-year term in the office. Other members unanimously elected included Mr. Abid Zahoor Malik (Senior Vice President), Ms.Leena Moin (Vice President), Mr .Sohail Raja (Finance Secretary), Mr.Khurram Awan (Joint Secretary) Mr.Hafiz Ubaid (Associate Secretary) while the members Executive Committee’s are Mr. Faheem Anwar Khan, Asghar Ali Mubarak, Mr. Gabriel D’ Souza, Mr. Kashif Abbasi, Mr. Shaharyar Khan,Ms. Amna Bilal, Mr.Faheem Akhtar, Mr.Mazhar Javed and Mr.Faisal Sahi. The Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) chairman Mr. Abdul Mohi Shah thanked the House for its unanimous decision and reposing trust in the entire panel. Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) also presented life-membership shields to three veteran sports journalists Mr. Faheem Anwar Khan, Mr. Imran Naeem Ahmad and Mr. Abdul Mohi Shah who pioneered the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) in the month of February 1986 at its first ever meeting held at Islamabad. The veteran sports journalists Mr.Faheem Anwar Khan, Mr. Imran Naeem Ahmad and Mr.Abdul Mohi Shah thanked the house for honoring them with life time achievement award.The house also honored its senior member Mr. Mohsin Ijaz who elected Secretary General of Supreme Court Journalists Association with an overwhelming majority. The newly-elected president Mr. Ayaz Akbar, in his inaugural address, stated that new faces will have to complete five years in sports journalism to obtain RISJA permanent membership while the journalists who have completed 25 years in active sports journalism will be granted life-time membership of the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA Mr.Ayaz Akbar Yousafzai president Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) hoped that the newly-elected office-bearers would perform their duties in best way and play role for the solution of issues faced by sports journalists ‘’without fear or favor’’.


Meanwhile General (R) Arif Hassan president Pakistan Olympic Association, President Pakistan Kabaddi Federation Rana Sarwar, President Pakistan Taekwondo Federation Col. Wasim Ahmed , Secretary General Ijaz Ur Rehman Pakistan Tenpin Bowling federation, Secretary General Pakistan Squash Federation Group Captain Tahir Sultan, former secretary Pakistan Hockey federation Shahbaz Sr, Pakistan Hockey Federation Ikhlaq Usmani , former DG Pakistan Sports Board Dr. Akhtar Nawaz Ganjira, national Badminton champion Palusha Bashir, national Tennis Champion Miss.Sara Mansoor, Squash Champion Farhan Mehboob, Former Squash World Champion Qamar Zaman, President Pakistan Ches Federation Amin Malik, Secretary General Pakistan chess federation Miss sadia,Divisional Boxing Association Rawalpindi-Secretary General Abdul-Jabar Pal, coach Star Academy Islamabad Ch Tariq Siraj, spokesperson speaker National Assembly Chaudhry Rizwan, seasoned politician Member Punjab Assembly Ms. Abida Raja, Senator Mian Atiq, Senator Rakhsana Zubairi , Ms. Shamim Aftab, member of Punjab assembly Senator Nuzhat Sadiq, Arshad Ahmed,Mian Muhammad Aslam ,Pakistan Muslim League (N) member National Assembly Chaudhry Noor Tanveer, Former President National Press Club Shakeel Qarar, PFUJ President Haji Nawaz Raza and others Congratulated the newly elected office-bearers of Rawalpindi-Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA).Moreover Syed Aqil Shah President KPK Olympic Association and Senior Vice President Pakistan Olympic Association has congratulated President RISJA Ayaz Akbar Yousafzai, secretary Arif Mehood Khan and other members in their election to RISJA office. He expressed his best wishes and invited newly elected members to visit Peshawar.


Leave a reply